## **European Parliamentary Elections**

Shropshire is one of the seven areas which together form part of the West Midlands Region for European Parliamentary Elections. The full list of areas which make up this region are:-

Shropshire Herefordshire Staffordshire Stoke-on-Trent Telford and Wrekin Warwickshire Worcestershire

On 4 June 2009, voting took place across the West Midlands to elect six members to the European Parliament for the West Midlands region for a 5 year period. As other countries within Europe did not vote until Friday, Saturday or in some cases Sunday, we were unable to count and declare any results for the European Parliamentary Poll until the evening of Sunday 7 June. The names and parties of those people elected to serve the West Midlands are:-

Philip Bradbourn - Conservative Party Mike Nattrass – UKIP Michael Cashman - Labour Party Malcolm Harbour - Conservative Party Liz Lynne - Liberal Democrats \* Nikki Sinclaire - UKIP

The total number of votes polled throughout the West Midlands by each party was as follows:-

British National Party - 121,967 Christian Party "Proclaiming Christ's Lordship" - 18,784 Conservative - 396,847 (Two seats: Bradbourn and Harbour) English Democrats Party - 32,455 Jury Team - 8,721 Liberal Democrats - 170,246 (One seat: Lynne) No2EU: Yes to Democracy - 13,415 Pro Democracy: Libertas.eu - 6,961 Socialist Labour Party - 14,724 The Green Party - 88,244 The Labour Party - 240,201 (One Seat: Cashman) United Kingdom Independence Party - 300,471 (Two seats: Nattrass and Sinclaire) A total of 9,216 ballot papers were either spoiled or rejected.

Since that time, an extra seat has been allocated to the West Midlands on the recommendation of the Electoral Commission in 2010. Miss Anthea McIntyre (a Conservative businesswoman) took up her seat on Monday 5 December 2011, bringing the total number of M.E.P.s in our region to seven.