Shropshire Council

Local elections - May 2017

Local elections are scheduled to take place in Shropshire on Thursday 4 May 2017. 

This means that nomination papers will need to be submitted by prospective candidates who wish to be considered for election to any of the following:

  • Any of the 74 seats on Shropshire Council
  • Any of the town council seats within Shropshire Council’s area
  • Any of the parish council seats within Shropshire Council’s area

The following information is attached to this page:

  • Notices of election
  • Notice of election agents
  • Statements of persons nominated to show who submitted nomination papers (statements of persons nominated for towns and parishes are divided between those starting with the letters A-K and those starting L-Z)
  • Notices of uncontested election
  • Notices of poll (Shropshire Council unitary elections)
  • Notices of poll (town and parish councils)

If you wish to find out further information, we recommend that you visit the Electoral Commission’s website:

We recommend that all prospective candidates print out and keep a copy of the Electoral Commission guidance relevant to their nomination to assist them in their campaign.

We've also produced our own candidates’ guidance documents, which you can download and print.  These have been sub-divided according to candidate type:

Key dates for the May 2017 elections

  • Registering to vote: The deadline to register to vote at these elections was midnight on 13 April. Electors wishing to register for future elections can do so online
  • Postal Voting: The deadline to apply for, cancel, or amend an existing postal vote expired at 5pm on 18 April
  • Proxy Voting:  All new applications for postal votes, or changes to existing proxy voting arrangements, must be made in writing, by 5pm on Tuesday 25 April. Please note that appointed proxies must either vote at the polling station of the elector who appointed them, or must apply to receive their ballot papers by post.  Any postal proxy applications must be in place by 5pm on Tuesday 18 April
  • Additional information can also be found on the Your Vote Matters website